19 Interlocking Nucleotides

Oh man, this one was a doozy!  Just the bottom left panel alone took as long as some of the other pages.  Planning it out, figuring out how my little critter was going to evolve, and then building the DNA stairs all took a very long time.  The unzipping DNA wasn’t quick either, although I was able to take advantage of some cutting and pasting to speed things up.  I was very pleased with myself when I came up with the interlocking nucleotides, making the correct letters pair up.

This is also the first time I’ve ever posted a blog form a coffee shop.  I’m not actually drinking any coffee (I got a quiche & a beer) but I’ve got my MacBook out and I’m taking advantage of some free wifi.  I almost went to the Starbucks across the street, after walking up and down Braodway in Burlingame looking for wifi (I’m in between a drop off and a pick up at SFO).  Then I was actually looking across the street from the Starbucks, thinking I might be able to sit on a bench and poach their signal when found a cute little independent place with KFOG on the radio and Tom Petty posters on the wall.

About jldunbar

An artist and science-enthusiast who loves making books
This entry was posted in biology, cartoon, DNA, evolution, genetics, Science. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

