20 DNA Spiraling out of Earth

Designing and drawing the spiraling double-helix featuring my new interlocking nucleotide letters was quite the challenge.  I found a ton of DNA reference images and two proved to be particularly helpful, but they each represented one end of the DNA strand in this image, so it was up to me to figure out how I could connect them. Once I got it sketched out it was still a lot of careful drawing to realize it, but being a single panel this page went pretty quickly overall.  Especially when you recognize that the effort I put into the depiction of Earth in the background also paid off when I made the cover.

About jldunbar

An artist and science-enthusiast who loves making books
This entry was posted in DNA, Earth, evolution, genetics, origin of life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

